From Out There Somewhere – January 28

With the start of Semester 2 fast approaching, my Math 8 class is soon to begin.  Here are some the things I’ve been reading as I plan out the semester for my students.

8 Things to Look for in Today’s Classroom – by George Couros

FreeBIE Tools for Project Based Learning – from the Buck Institute for Education

What Does Learning Look Like (Part 1/3) – by Paul Bogush

Ten Things I Learned Going into Project Based Learning – by John Spencer

6 Free Professional Development Web Tools Worth Trying – from Edudemic

30 Dr. Seuss Quotes You Should Never Forget – from Edudemic

Parent Engagement in Education – from Edutopia

As you can tell, I would really like to try some project based learning with my Math 8 class.  I’ve also been attending some Carole Fullerton workshops in my district (SD 22 Vernon, BC) and I am wanting to try and incorporate some of the strategies she has demonstrated.  Combine that with using the MindUp curriculum (I will be attending a book club in my district regarding this topic) and I think it is going to be a challenging and rewarding semester.

Leave a Reply

