Recent Reads

Winter break always provides some extra time for reading and so far I have finished two books.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline was a book that AJ Juliani  mentioned in his blog post The Best Books of 2016 for Teachers (And Learners).  Always interested in reading a fiction book over the break I looked to see if this was available at our local library, it was and I grabbed it.  Once I started it was hard to put down and I finished it in few days.  Set in 2045 and has lots of 80s references – Atari 2600, TRS-80 and tons of songs and movies – the story is a good one!

I have recently started listening to the The Tim Ferris Show Podcast and on one podcast with Peter Diamandis  he talked about his book Bold and what he had written about.  Although the book was more business focused and entrepreneurship I was intrigued.  I checked the book out of the library and it was another one I couldn’t put down.  Some of the take aways from the book:

  • Exponential technology and the five that are going to change the world
  • the secrets of skunk and how this could relate to education – is this a “design” process that could be used to help us in what schools could like?  Is this even doable in a school or district?
  • the 10x strategy – if you are going to change go for 10x better not 10% better than the status quo.  Again, how would this relate to education and how we look at solving our issues?
  • Google’s 8 Innovation principles – some great principles here and again leaves me to think how would these principles be applied to education?
  •  The billionaire wisdom chapter that gave me a glimpse into Elon Musk (Tesla), Richard Branson (Virgin), Larry Page (Google) and Jeff Bezos (Amazon) – all names I have heard of but didn’t know much about other than the companies they are most connected with.
  • Crowd sourcing, crowd funding, building community – some great info and step by step stuff

I can’t help but think – how could some of these principles and ideas be used in education?  Some of the mindsets on change and disruption are intriguing to me and I wonder how this might transfer to our problem solving that we need to do in education.  If you get a chance to read the book – I encourage you do that – I would love to hear your thoughts on what you learned!

Leave a Reply

